Future of online music

I am a fan of Last.fm. Already have been for a while. But today they amazed me once again when I noticed their brand new widgets. Their old widgets were clickable pictures linking to your charts at Last.fm, just like the one at the right hand side of this blog. But their new ones look like this:

lastfm-widget.jpg

These little friends are Flash enabled. So what, I hear you ask? Well, first of all they show people who visit my blog, MySpace page, or homepage on which the thing is displayed that I am actually listening to music as they are reading the page. Pretty cool. But most of all people get the opportunity to actually listen to my recently played tracks, my personal playlist displaying “who I am musically” or my personal radio station from within the widget. How cool is that? And how personal can a musical referral get online? Last.fm is getting close if you ask me.

One thought on “Future of online music

Leave a Reply

