Hats of to Mr. Carlock

Last Saturday I went to the North Sea Jazz Festival in Rotterdam for the first time since 1990 and it was great. I especially came to see Wynton Marsalis, Roy Hargrove and above all, Steely Dan, a band which has had a big influence on me as a drummer and who are still among my top played artists. I had already seen them at their latest concerts in Holland back in 1998 and 2000 in Rotterdam and enjoyed them a lot. But I think this was the concert in which they blew me away the most. See some videos I shot at YouTube here and here.

A big reason I enjoyed it so much was the amazingly groovy and tasteful drum-work of Keith Carlock whom I only had heard on The Dan’s latest record Everything Must Go and Donald Fagen’s most recent solo album Morph the Cat. I dug around YouTube a little and came up with this recent video in which Keith takes his solo in Josie. Sit back and enjoy.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

