Guitar & voice = all you need

Last Saturday, by coincidence, I watched the TV show ‘Raymann is Laat’ of Dutch stand up comedian Jurgen Raymann. His musical guest was Raul Midon and he played the song ‘Pick Somebody Up’. I was blown away. His voice and his rhythmic skills on the guitar are amazing. When I saw him perform I actually remembered seeing him from the corner of my eye on one of the big screens in the hallway of the North Sea Jazz Festival last summer. I suggest you click the link above, then ‘muziek’ and lastly on the thumbnail of the show of 22 September to view his performance.

I searched YouTube but could only find one video where he performs the same song but the audio quality is terrible. Apparently it is the opening song of his newly released album ‘A World Within A World’. I am buying it for sure.

To get an idea of what I am talking about right here, right now, I have included a older song by Raul called ‘State of Mind’. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

