The cost and difficulty of publishing

Well, almost two weeks have gone since LeWeb3 ended. And I had a great time in a beautiful city.

My highlights:

  1. Monday night dinner with all the Dutchies. Very nice to meet a bunch of passionate people from the industry IRL.
  2. Philipe Starck, Joi Ito and Marc Canter on Tuesday, as Tumblelogged here.
  3. The Wednesday brought JP Rangaswami – ‘focus on output, not input’ – and the ‘television reborn’ session with a.o. Jeff Pulver and Robert Scoble, which pointed me to a few interesting online video services I didn’t know. Doc Searls is still my hero, but his presentation was a bit rushed.

And I started using Tumblr seriously for the first time, as I wrote before I went. As you probably know, Tumblr is a tool to publish short video, audio or text based messages to your own website. Let’s start with my conclusion: I still love the tool. Tumblr has definitely entered my row of favorite web apps. It is really easy to use – you have your thought published in no-time -, it is beautifully designed, and the user interaction is very slick. Hence, I will keep publishing long-form posts at this blog and use Carp’s Moleskine for the more informal, short scribble.

tumblr.jpg

As Clay Shirky said almost four years ago (via Gapingvoid):

“So forget about blogs and bloggers and blogging and focus on this- the cost and difficulty of publishing absolutely anything, by anyone, into a global medium, just got a whole lot lower. And the effects of that increased pool of potential producers is going to be vast.”

Tumblr lowered the cost and difficulty of publishing again – big time.

UPDATE: I added an RSS feed of my latest posts at Tumblr at the right hand side of this blog to get an idea of what I’m doing over there.

One thought on “The cost and difficulty of publishing

Leave a Reply

