Suggested reading?

Next week we’re a week off, and we’re renting a house in the middle of the country. Enjoying ourselves, playing with the little one, biking through the forests, looking forward to it. We’re definitely taking some books as well. I will finish The Black Swan – which I really recommend, but that’s a separate post – but I’m also thinking about a new one. I decided it isn’t going to be a business book – for which there are plenty of suggestions on my wish list at Amazon – but I’m still in doubt whether it’s going to be fiction or non-fiction.

Then I remembered I read something about a book being written by an Italian journalist about the Mafia. A good moment to check out the new book site (Dutch only) of Dutch daily NRC Handelsblad which they launched a month or two ago. They decided to open-up their library of book publications, reviews etc. So I entered “maffia” and “italie”, and there it was: Roberto Saviano’s “Gomorro”. Brilliant. And you can buy it on their site as well. They are finally learning.

On the non-fiction side I’m thinking about Van der Heijden’s “Schervengericht”. But look at that number of pages, I’m not sure yet.

What would you recommend?

5 comments

  1. Hey Carp! I was just checking out your twitterstream and saw this post. The nonfiction book I’m still recommending to a lot of people is The Art of Effortless Living by Ingrid Bacci. It might seem to be a run-of-the-mill self-help book, but it actually has one of the most insightful cultural critiques inside, which is also very relevant to the Web 2.0 sphere of interest. Here’s the link:

    http://www.amazon.com/Effortless-Living-Ingrid-Bacci-Ph-D/dp/0967850711

    Have a nice vacation!

Leave a Reply

