Guard your own lifestream

I lost Aussie blogger Ben Barren a few months ago but found him again today at his new blog:

“Mad Man – Ben Barren.com: “DON DRAPER OR DICK WHITMAN I AIN’T. I WASN’T A MADISON AVENUE AD MAN IN 1963, BUT GOOGLE™ AND FLICKR™ DID DELETE MY BLOG AND PHOTOS IN 2008 SO WHY NOT DOCUMENT MY LIFESTREAM HERE; HIRED GUN / ENTREPRENEUR :)””

header

It turns out that the reason I lost the guy in my RSS reader was that Google/the Google-bot killed his blog. Because it/they thought it was a splog. Ouch. He moved to his own domain http://www.benbarren.com using WordPress. In the meantime, the new Blogger/FeedBurner kahuna switched on his old blogspot account again, so he was able to tell me about his whereabouts.

Big lesson: there is a risk using and running all these social tools at domains you don’t own. Maybe I should move to ronaldcarpentier.com as well.

BTW the Mad Men series is awesome. Last summer I watched the first season on DVD with Margot. Can’t wait for season 2 to arrive on DVD as well. Apparantly, they just won the Golden Globe for best TV drama for the second time in a row.

Leave a Reply

