“Our highest-quality format”

So, the new standard on iTunes has become iTunes Plus. Files purchased at Apple’s store before this move were encoded at a rate of 128 kbps in Apple’s AAC format. With iTunes Plus, they doubled the rate to 256 kbps.

iTunes Plus

So what? Well, this is still a lossy file format which means the quality is not as good as with the original lossless files used on CD’s for example. So, if you want to be able to replay your digital music files on a high end stereo set like I do with the best possible audio result, this is still not the way to go. I will stick with CD’s – for now – and import them using Apple’s lossless format. Do you use iTunes as well for your digital music management and want to know more about these file formats? Check out this forum and this wiki.

BTW I imported my complete 500+ CD collection into iTunes 3 years ago in iTunes using a lossy format. Wasn’t aware of the way it would limit me at the time. Ouch. Maybe this post will prevent you from making the same mistake as I did back then.

So, if someone knows about a ripping service like this one which also covers Europe, Apple Lossless and will cost me less than say $500 you will make my day ๐Ÿ™‚ Or maybe a nice job to submit at Amazon’s Mechanical Turk ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 comments

  1. Why not use Flac? Superior quality. Use Songbird as an iTunes substitute and Rockbox as iPod sw substitute, that’s all you need.

  2. Lossless is lossless so that doesn’t make a difference. And I can transcode the lossless file to any other format I like if I want to. Didn’t know about Songbird and Rockbox – interesting stuff. Certainly a good match if you don’t want to use iTunes and/or one of the iPods. Not an option (yet) if you have an iPhone – like I do.

Leave a Reply

